I will not let You go unless You bless me!

Genesis: Jacob is returning home after 20 years of serving his mother’s brother Laban.  He narrowly escaped what could have been a nasty confrontation with Laban, and is afraid that he is about to experience one with his brother Esau.  The night before the expected confrontation Jacob, who was left alone, wrestles with a Man. (Hosea identifies the “Man” as an Angel).  Finally, because Jacob would not let Him go:

…And He (the Man/Angel) said, “Let Me go, for the day breaks.”  But he (Jacob) said, “I will not let You go unless You bless me!”
So He said to him, “What is your name?” He said, “Jacob.”
And He said, “Your name shall no longer be called Jacob, but Israel; for you have struggled with God and with men, and have prevailed.”

Awesome God,

May we hold on to You today, holding out for Your blessing.
Would You bless us with the blessing You desire for us.
May we not presume to know what that is.
Would You reveal Yourself to us as we seek You.

Amen

Today I am reading: Genesis 31, 32, 33; Luke 13

~ by Jonathan Biron on January 13, 2009.

One Response to “I will not let You go unless You bless me!”

  1. 1/13/09
    1 Peter 3:8-13
    8Finally, all of you, live in harmony with one another; be sympathetic, love as brothers, be compassionate and humble. 9Do not repay evil with evil or insult with insult, but with blessing, because to this you were called so that you may inherit a blessing. 10For,
    “Whoever would love life
    and see good days
    must keep his tongue from evil
    and his lips from deceitful speech.
    11He must turn from evil and do good;
    he must seek peace and pursue it.
    12For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous
    and his ears are attentive to their prayer,
    but the face of the Lord is against those who do evil.”
    13Who is going to harm you if you are eager to do good? 14But even if you should suffer for what is right, you are blessed. “Do not fear what they fear; do not be frightened.”15But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Lord help me to live in harmony, to be compassionate and humble. Teach me to bless not curse. Guard my heart and my thoughts and my tongue. Let me realize how blessed I truly am in Your presence. Fill me with Your Holy Spirit. Reveal Yourself. Thank You. Amen

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

