Glorify God with One Mind and One Mouth

Paul, petitioning God on behalf of the church in Rome:

Now may the God of patience and comfort grant you to be like-minded toward one another, according to Christ Jesus, that you may with one mind and one mouth glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.

God of patience and comfort,

Looking at Your body (the church) today, it seems we are not all like-minded.  Forgive us for letting petty differences keep us from glorifying You with one mind and one mouth.  Grant to us that we be like-minded toward one another, according to Christ Jesus.  Reveal Yourself as You truly are so that we may all truly glorify You in unity with one another.

Amen

Today I am reading: Romans 13 – 16

~ by Jonathan Biron on December 3, 2008.

One Response to “Glorify God with One Mind and One Mouth”

  1. 12/4/08
    2 Timothy 2:14
    14Keep reminding them of these things. Warn them before God against quarreling about words; it is of no value, and only ruins those who listen. 15Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a workman who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth. 16Avoid godless chatter, because those who indulge in it will become more and more ungodly.
    Romans 12:3-7
    3For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the measure of faith God has given you. 4Just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, 5so in Christ we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. 6We have different gifts, according to the grace given us. If a man’s gift is prophesying, let him use it in proportion to his faith. 7If it is serving, let him serve; if it is teaching, let him teach; 8if it is encouraging, let him encourage; if it is contributing to the needs of others, let him give generously; if it is leadership, let him govern diligently; if it is showing mercy, let him do it cheerfully.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Lord I ask You to show me Your truth. Keep me from thinking that is prideful and arrogant. Help me to study Your word, to meditate on Your word. Give me understanding of Your word for me. Keep me from idle talk, and from thinking my view needs to be right. Help me to look to You for understanding. Help me to truly love, with Your love, others in the body, for truly all who have come to You, and who call on You, who have asked You to be their Lord and savior, are a part of me, a part of my body. Help me to nurture and care for my body. Amen

Leave a Reply

 
