The Spirit Himself Makes Intercession for Us

Paul, in his letter to Rome:

For when you were slaves of sin, you were free in regard to righteousness.  What fruit did you have then in the things of which you are now ashamed? For the end of those things is death.  But now having been set free from sin, and having become slaves of God, you have your fruit to holiness, and the end, everlasting life.

… and then …

Now if I do what I will not to do, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me.
I find then a law, that evil is present with me, the one who wills to do good.
For I delight in the law of God according to the inward man.

… then …

So then, those who are in the flesh cannot please God.

… then …

Likewise the Spirit also helps in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.

Abba, Father,

So often my words fail.
I delight in You.
I delight in Your word.
Search my heart.
Teach me to allow the Spirit of God to dwell in me.

Reveal Yourself today.

Amen

Today I am reading: Romans 5 – 8

~ by Jonathan Biron on December 1, 2008.

2 Responses to “The Spirit Himself Makes Intercession for Us”

  1. Father God… Jonathan says his words fail. I myself fail. As I stumble over the word Crucify this week, help me to see the victory in my life Christ achieved for me. Continue to find ways to purify my heart. In your Christ’s name. Amen

  2. 12/4/08
    Romans 8:26
    26In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Lord we cry out to You. Holy Spirit please help us in our weakness. Intercede for us.
    Thank You, Praise You oh Lord. Amen

Leave a Reply

 
