Cold Love

Jesus, talking privately to His disciples about His returning and ‘the End’, points out:

“…and because lawlessness will abound, the love of many will grow cold.”

Wonderful and Loving Father,

Every beat of my heart belongs to You.  Not because of anything I have done.  Like the rest of creation, You made it and You cause it to beat.  But it is clear that I have some choice in where I place my affections.  How can I not love You?  Just the small portion of Your incredible majesty that You have revealed to me leaves me awestruck.  And yet, time and again, I know in my heart that my love so easily does grow cold.  I let my mind get distracted by the temorary things around me, as though they are immensely important, and lose sight of the goal of knowing You.  Of seeing You revealed.  May it not be so.  Let not my love grow cold.  Reveal Yourself today.

Amen

Today I am reading: Matthew 23 – 25

~ by Jonathan Biron on November 26, 2008.

One Response to “Cold Love”

  1. 11/26/08
    Revelation 3:15-17 (New International Version)
    15I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! 16So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth. 17You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked.
    Psalm 39
    3 My heart grew hot within me,
    and as I meditated, the fire burned;
    then I spoke with my tongue:
    4 “Show me, O LORD, my life’s end
    and the number of my days;
    let me know how fleeting is my life.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Lord help me to see how brief this life on earth can be. Help me not to have a cold and uncaring heart. Help not to be so full of this worlds goods that I turn lukewarm and lead me in Your truth. Amen

Leave a Reply

 
