Divine Audacity

When Jesus’ disciples, being tossed around in their boat on the sea, saw Him walking on the waves they quite naturally thought He was actually a ghost.  Afterall, reasonable people realize that people can’t walk on water.  But Jesus reassuringly told them, “Be of good cheer!  It is I; do not be afraid.”

Peter’s response is, I think, quite audacious. “Lord, if it is You, command me to come to You on the water.”

Jesus only says one word in response, “Come”.

Later, a woman from Canaan wanted Jesus to heal her demon-possessed daughter.  He tells her, “It is not good to take the children’s bread and throw it to the little dogs.”  (Essentially saying that the “bread” – healing the sick, or in this case, the demon-possessed – is meant for someone else and giving it to her and her daughter would be like “throwing it to the dogs”.)

Her audacious response, “Yes, Lord, yet even the little dogs eat the crumbs which fall from their master’s table.”

To which Jesus simply says, “O woman, great is your faith!  Let it be to you as you desire.”

Finally, in response to Jesus’ query, “But who do you say I am?” Peter declares, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.”

Jesus answered this by saying, “Blessed are you, Simon Bar-Jonah, for flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but My Father who is in heaven.”

Wonderful Savior,

I am so conditioned and taught to accept certain limitations.  I can’t walk on water, so I shouldn’t ask.  If someone in authority says that giving me something would be like giving their children’s food to dogs, I am sensible enough to back off.  But these things are what flesh and blood have revealed to me.  I want what only God can reveal to me.  Reveal to me the Truth that will allow me to declare, like Peter did, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.”

Amen

Today I am reading: Matthew 14 – 16

~ by Jonathan Biron on November 23, 2008.

One Response to “Divine Audacity”

  1. 11/24/08
    Matthew 8:8-10
    8The centurion replied, “Lord, I do not deserve to have you come under my roof. But just say the word, and my servant will be healed. 9For I myself am a man under authority, with soldiers under me. I tell this one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and that one, ‘Come,’ and he comes. I say to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.” 10When Jesus heard this, he was astonished and said to those following him, “I tell you the truth, I have not found anyone in Israel with such great faith.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Lord I ask you to help me have the understanding and revelation of that centurion. He knew You, Your character, Your heart, Your ability. Oh Lord I ask for that for my self, my husband and my children. Thank You Lord. Thank You that you hear my prayer, and that nothing is too difficult for You. Thank You Lord, Amen.

Leave a Reply

 
