Sheep Without a Shepherd

Then Jesus went about all the cities and villages, teaching in their synagogues, preaching the gospel of the kingdom, and healing every sickness and every disease among the people.

But when He saw the multitudes, He was moved with compassion for them, because they were weary and scattered, like sheep having no shepherd.  Then He said to His disciples,

“The harvest truly is plentiful, but the laborers are few.  Therefore pray the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into His harvest.”

And when He had called His twelve disciples to Him, He gave them power over unclean spirits, to cast them out, and to heal all kinds of sickness and all kinds of disease.

Gentle Shepherd,

We also see multitudes that are weary and scattered.  We also are moved with compassion for them.  If the instruction then was “Pray”, it seems safe to believe that the instruction today is still “Pray”.  So we pray.  With expectation that You will reveal Your power to us and in us, we pray.  That You would have mercy, on us and on the multitudes of other weary and scattered sheep.  Now, just as then, we need You to send out laborers into Your harvest.  We pray, asking that You would.  Reveal Yourself to this generation.

Amen

Today I am reading: Matthew 8 – 10

~ by Jonathan Biron on November 21, 2008.

One Response to “Sheep Without a Shepherd”

  1. 11/21/08
    Psalm 144:2-4 2 He is my loving God and my fortress,
    my stronghold and my deliverer,
    my shield, in whom I take refuge,
    who subdues peoples under me.
    3 O LORD, what is man that you care for him,
    the son of man that you think of him?
    4 Man is like a breath;
    his days are like a fleeting shadow.
    1 Peter 5:6-8
    6 Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. 7 Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.
    8 Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Oh Lord it is so amazing and so hard to truly understand how much you care for us. Please teach me, show me, reveal to me Your great love and compassion toward me and others. In this scary time when so many are loosing their jobs, their homes, their families and some their lives, please show me what your heart is, how can I comfort with Your perfect Love and Comfort.
    Forgive me Lord, I confess I do become anxious for my self and my family. Help me to trust You, really trust You (not just say that I do). Thank You that you know me and Love me just as I am, where I am at; and that You Love me so much You don’t want me to stay where I am at.

Leave a Reply

 
