Voice from heaven: This is My Beloved Son, in Whom I am Well Pleased

Jesus went to John to be baptized.  John tried to stop Him (pointing out that, if anything, Jesus should be baptizing John and not the other way around) but Jesus insisted.  After He is baptized, Matthew has it that:

…the heavens were opened to Him, and He saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and alighting upon Him.  And suddenly a voice came from heaven, saying, “This is My beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.”

Shortly thereafter, when He is in the wilderness being tempted by the devil, He is twice tempted with the line:

“If You are the Son of God…”

Father God,

We are Your sons and daughters.
We don’t seek to prove this, we simply believe it because You said it.
We ask for Your revelation.
Not so that we can believe, but because we already believe.

Father, as Your child, looking past the petty “prove yourself” accusations of the devil, I ask, please reveal Yourself.

Amen

Today I am reading: Matthew 1 – 4

~ by Jonathan Biron on November 19, 2008.

One Response to “Voice from heaven: This is My Beloved Son, in Whom I am Well Pleased”

  1. John 1:12-13
    12Yet to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God— 13children born not of natural descent,nor of human decision or a husband’s will, but born of God.

    Jude 1:20-21
    20But you, dear friends, build yourselves up in your most holy faith and pray in the Holy Spirit. 21Keep yourselves in God’s love as you wait for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ to bring you to eternal life.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Lord please help me to trust in You, in Your hearts desire and your mercy for me. Thank you that You love me so much more than I can fathom. Thank you that You Love and care for my children more than I ever could. Please continue to guide and Bless my natural children. Please continue to draw them every closer to You. Help me to hide Your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you. Teach me to learn to listen to You, help me to know that is really You speaking. Amen

Leave a Reply

 
