God’s Grace is Sufficient

Paul talks, rather cryptically, to the Corinthians about a ‘thorn in the flesh’ (also described as a messenger of Satan to buffet him) that was given to him.  From Paul’s perspective, its design is to prevent him from being ‘exalted above measure’.  (I certainly pray that one day I have that problem!)  It must have been unpleasant to him because, apparently, he pleaded with the Lord three times to have it depart.

Here is what Paul tells us that God said to him:

“My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.”

Perfect Father,

My prayer has been and still is that You would reveal Yourself.
It is my strong belief and conviction that we must see You revealed.
Only Your perfect strength can do the ‘heavy lifting’ that You call us to do.
Your yoke is easy and Your burden is light when we allow You to do what only You can do.
So, today, lest I consume myself with striving in my strength to do what, of necessity, You must do
– and –
lest I sit idly by waiting for some show from You,
I pray that You would teach me what it means that Your grace is sufficient for me.
I pray that Your strength would be made perfect in my weakness.
If what it takes – to see You and Your glory revealed – is that I be made weaker, I pray that You would make me weak.
Perfectly weak.
But above all, that You would be revealed.

Amen

Today I am reading: Psalm 124; II Corinthians 11-13

~ by Jonathan Biron on November 18, 2008.

One Response to “God’s Grace is Sufficient”

  1. I missed yesterday… I apologize.

    Father God… I am listening. In this crazy world with all the noise, you are who I seek. Your voice. Father God let your voice be heard throughout the world and let your truth be known to this world. Father God thank you for your Truth that guides my live.

    Amen

Leave a Reply

 
