Cleanse and Make Holy

Paul, warning those in Corinth that ‘their own affections’ are restricting them, explains that they (and we can infer by extension – us) are the temple of the living God.  He points out that God has said:

“I will dwell in them
And walk among them.
I will be their God,
And they shall be My people.”

Therefore

“Come out from among them
And be separate, says the Lord.
Do not touch what is unclean,
And I will receive you.”
“I will be a Father to you,
And you shall be My sons and daughters,
Says the LORD Almighty.”

Then, with a big “therefore”, he concludes that based on these promises, we should – “…cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit, perfecting holiness in the fear of God.”

How?

Psalm 119 – BETH (9-16)

How can a young man cleanse his way?
By taking heed according to Your word.
With my whole heart I have sought You;
Oh, let me not wander from Your commandments!
Your word I have hidden in my heart,
That I might not sin against You.
Blessed are You, O LORD!
Teach me Your statutes.
With my lips I have declared
All the judgments of Your mouth.
I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies,
As much as in all riches.
I will meditate on Your precepts,
And contemplate Your ways.
I will delight myself in Your statutes;
I will not forget Your word.

Majestic and Holy One,

My heart bows down in humility and gratitude.  What keeps me from You?  You desire to dwell in and walk among us.  May I truly say, “With my whole heart I have sought You”.  Cleanse me from all filthiness and perfect holiness in me.  Please, as a Father, reveal Yourself.  To me.  In me.  Make Yourself known.

Amen

Today I am reading: II Corinthians 7-10

~ by Jonathan Biron on November 17, 2008.

3 Responses to “Cleanse and Make Holy”

  1. Father God,

    Cleanse me of the chaff in my life. Help me see you more clearly day by day, hour by hour, minute bu minute. Father it is your will not mine. Make me righteous be the fire of your Spirit burning inside me. Make be holy and pure, in the Name of Your Son, Christ Jesus.

    Amen.

    John 18 was my reading today. I AM Spoke.

  2. 11/18/08 Psalm 51:2 & 10-13 (New International Version) 2 Wash away all my iniquity
    and cleanse me from my sin.
    10 Create in me a pure heart, O God,
    and renew a steadfast spirit within me.
    11 Do not cast me from your presence
    or take your Holy Spirit from me.
    12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation
    and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.
    13 Then I will teach transgressors your ways,
    and sinners will turn back to you.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Oh Lord please give me that willing spirit. Help me to be honest with myself and with You. Keep me from denial and deception. Help me to look honestly at what you want to show me. Keep my heart soft, take down the walls I’ve put up. I want to be willing to go in the direction You want me to go.

  3. My God, I am but dust, I thank you that you O’Lord have even considered me for salvation. Glory to your name. Forgive my sins and cleanse me, set me on your straight and narrow path, guide my steps, may your word be a lamp unto my feet.

    **
    Thank you for this Jonathan, you have edified me this evening. May the Lord bless you.

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

 
