The Fragrance of Christ

Working backwards (in terms of the time line of events) concerning Job’s losses being restored, verse 10 (of chapter 42) tells us, “…the Lord restored Job’s losses when he prayed for his friends.”

Job had to pray for his friends – and not the other way around – because (verse 8), “…My servant Job shall pray for you.  For I will accept him, lest I deal with you according to your folly; because you have not spoken of Me what is right, as My servant Job has.”

What Job said, that was ‘what is right’ was not a whole lot!

“I know that You can do everything, and that no purpose of Yours can be withheld from You.

You asked, ‘Who is this who hides counsel without knowledge?’

Therefore I have uttered what I did not understand, things too wonderful for me, which I did not know.

Listen, please, and let me speak;

You said, ‘I will question you, and you shall answer Me.’

“I have heard of You by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye sees You.

Therefore I abhor myself, and repent in dust and ashes.”

Job “spoke of God what is right” which allowed his intercession, on behalf of his friends, to be acceptable.

Similarly, Paul (now in his second letter to the Corinthians) says that we are to God:

“…the fragrance of Christ among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing.  To the one we are the aroma of death leading to death, and to the other the aroma of life leading to life. And who is sufficient for these things?

Not that we are sufficient of ourselves to think of anything as being from ourselves, but our sufficiency is from God, who also made us sufficient as ministers of the new covenant, not of the letter but of the Spirit; for the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.”

Generous Giver of Life,

I don’t want to know You only by what I have heard from others.  I want to be able to say, like Job did, that I have seen You myself.  I believe that as You reveal Yourself to us, we will – more and more – become Your fragrance.  Two things I ask today, that I would see You with my own eyes and that I would be Your fragrance.

Amen

Today I am reading: Job 41, 42; II Corinthians 1, 2

~ by Jonathan Biron on November 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
