Woe is me (I am undone)

God, after asking Job a (rather long) series of (for all inents and purposes) rhetorical questions, takes a break to allow Job to respond:

“Shall the one who contends with the Almighty correct Him?
He who rebukes God, let him answer it.”

Job’s response reveals the impact that the presence of God has on a man that God Himself called “…a blameless and upright man, one who fears God and shuns evil…”

“Behold, I am vile;
What shall I answer You?
I lay my hand over my mouth.

Once I have spoken, but I will not answer;
Yes, twice, but I will proceed no further.”

But, he (Job) is not alone in this self-devastated response to the presence of God.  Consider Isaiah, in the passage from which this site gets its name (Isaiah 6), who cries out:

“Woe is me, for I am undone!
Because I am a man of unclean lips,
And I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips;
For my eyes have seen the King,
The LORD of hosts.”

Or, the shepherds, living out in the fields, to whom an angel of the Lord appeared, when the glory of the Lord shone around them, they were “greatly afraid”.  As a friend of mine once put it, “If angels that are sent to deliver a message from God to man read from a script, there is probably a very bold and highlighted section at the top (coupled with intense training) to remind them that the first thing they need to say is, “Do not be afraid”.  Because when ‘man’ is confronted with the presence of God, his natural reaction is fear.”

Perfect Redeemer,

It would be easy, I think, to think that Job’s response to you was because of his arrogance in questioning You, rather than accept that, spoken or not, that arrogance resides in me too.  Instead, let the realization that this response came from his face-to-face encounter with Your presence cause me to desire, yearn for and continually ask for that kind of encounter.  Job repeatedly asked for an audience with You.  With a trepid heart, enboldened by desire (read: love), I ask the same.  Would You come and allow me an audience (however brief or long) with You.  Not because I think I can handle it.  Not in spite of the fact that I know I cannot.  But because I know I cannot.  Come and reveal Yourself to me.  I desire the consequences.

Amen

Today I am reading: Job 39, 40; I Corinthians 13, 14

~ by Jonathan Biron on November 13, 2008.

2 Responses to “Woe is me (I am undone)”

  1. Jer 5
    21 Hear this, you foolish and senseless people,
    who have eyes but do not see,
    who have ears but do not hear:

    22 Should you not fear me?” declares the LORD.
    “Should you not tremble in my presence?
    I made the sand a boundary for the sea,
    an everlasting barrier it cannot cross.
    The waves may roll, but they cannot prevail;
    they may roar, but they cannot cross it.

    23 But these people have stubborn and rebellious hearts;
    they have turned aside and gone away.

    Father God,

    This is an easy one for you, hard for me. Humble me, keep my foolish heart humble. Keep it bound by the shores of your righteousness. Keep me from crossing the boundary of sin outside your Grace. Amen

  2. […] our humility and brokenness before Him that we are granted access to Him, and because (as mentioned yesterday) encounters with His presence usually result in our ‘undoing’, it seems that it would […]

Leave a Reply

 
