Got God Gifts?

God, asking Job a series of rhetorical questions – seemingly designed to reveal the all-powerful-ness of God and by contrast the limited-powerful-ness of Job (and us) – slides in two questions that, because of the intended ‘obvious answer’, is wonderfully comforting.  He asks Job:

“Who has put wisdom in the mind?
Or who has given understanding to the heart?”

Then Paul (still talking to the believers in Corinth) declares:

“There are diversities of gifts, but the same Spirit.
There are differences of ministries, but the same Lord.
And there are diversities of activities, but it is the same God who works all in all.

But the manifestation of the Spirit is given to each one for the profit of all:
for to one is given the word of wisdom through the Spirit, to another the word of knowledge through the same Spirit, to another faith by the same Spirit, to another gifts of healings by the same Spirit,  to another the working of miracles, to another prophecy, to another discerning of spirits, to another different kinds of tongues, to another the interpretation of tongues.

But one and the same Spirit works all these things, distributing to each one individually as He wills.”

Almighty Lord,

I need You.  I love You.  I want whatever You want to give me.  As Your servant and Your son, I offer You my life to be used and orchestrated as You see fit.  I want my life to be a testimony to Your greatness.

Amen

Today I am reading: Job 37, 38; I Corinthians 12

~ by Jonathan Biron on November 12, 2008.

4 Responses to “Got God Gifts?”

  1. This is Discipleship… You are apprenticing Christ. When you open to him like this, watch out, and be prepared. He will use you in ways you never imagined. Love seeing Men getting to this place with their faith. Brother continue to open up to God, and let Him expose your heart in ways that will bring you to his knees in His Glory.

    I will be checking back and going back to the beginning of your blog. Peace Brother

  2. Father God,

    I am your clay. Use me as you see fit. You know my talents better than I, use them to fullfill your will not mine. Father bless the blog, and the authors prayers. Continue to open the hearts of your people to the Loving grace made available through Your Son, Jesus the Christ. In His name, Amen

  3. Ecclesiastes 2:26 (New International Version) 26 To the man who pleases him, God gives wisdom, knowledge and happiness, but to the sinner he gives the task of gathering and storing up wealth to hand it over to the one who pleases God. This too is meaningless, a chasing after the wind.
    2 Chronicles 1:8-10 (New International Version 8 Solomon answered God, “You have shown great kindness to David my father and have made me king in his place. 9 Now, LORD God, let your promise to my father David be confirmed, for you have made me king over a people who are as numerous as the dust of the earth. 10 Give me wisdom and knowledge, that I may lead this people, for who is able to govern this great people of yours?”
    Lord it is a continual daily walk to keep seeking You and Your wisdom, Your guidance. Help me to have a heart such a Solomon in his early years. A heart that desires to seek after You. A heart the wants Your Wisdom, not my own. Protect me and keep me from allowing myself to be lead astray, as King Solomon did in his latter years, when even after receiving such great wisdom from you, he allowed his many wives to have the influence over him to lead him away. God may I never allow any thing in my life to lead me away from You.

  4. Jer 4
    1 “If you will return, O Israel,
    return to me,”
    declares the LORD.
    “If you put your detestable idols out of my sight
    and no longer go astray,

    2 and if in a truthful, just and righteous way
    you swear, ‘As surely as the LORD lives,’
    then the nations will be blessed by him
    and in him they will glory.”

    3 This is what the LORD says to the men of Judah and to Jerusalem:
    “Break up your unplowed ground
    and do not sow among thorns.

    4 Circumcise yourselves to the LORD,
    circumcise your hearts,
    you men of Judah and people of Jerusalem,
    or my wrath will break out and burn like fire
    because of the evil you have done—
    burn with no one to quench it.

    Father God, by the power of your Spirit circumcise my heart. Sanctify it to your will and purity. Amen.

Leave a Reply

 
