What only God can offer

Job, in his 28th chapter, points out and elaborates on the fact that man is really good at finding things.  From silver and gold, iron and copper to overturning mountains and bringing light to the most hidden places – if it can be found, man will find away to find it.  But then he, Job, turns his attention to something that man cannot even put a value to:

“But where can wisdom be found?
And where is the place of understanding?
Man does not know its value,
Nor is it found in the land of the living.”

Thankfully, Job explains to us that God says:

“And to man He said,
‘Behold, the fear of the Lord, that is wisdom,
And to depart from evil is understanding.’”

Then Paul, in Galatians, says:

“For do I now persuade men, or God? Or do I seek to please men? For if I still pleased men, I would not be a bondservant of Christ.”

…of the gospel, he says:

“For I neither received it from man, nor was I taught it, but it came through the revelation of Jesus Christ.”

…and describing what the churches of Judea had heard about him… and their response to it:

“‘He who formerly persecuted us now preaches the faith which he once tried to destroy.’ And they glorified God in me.”

Fearsome and Loving Father,

It is only from You that we can receive wisdom, understanding or the gospel through the revelation of Jesus Christ.  I confess that I have been guilty of trying to manufacture these things myself.  Forgive me for that arrogance and replace my weakly contrived ‘wisdom’ and ‘understanding’ with true wisdom and true understanding.  May the understanding of the gospel that I receive be from You through the revelation of Jesus Christ… only.  And may the wisdom and understanding and gospel that we offer be only that which we first receive from You.

Amen

~ by Jonathan Biron on November 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
