God: “Follow Me”

Jesus, talking to His disciples and the people gathered around Him in Mark 8, offers this wonderful instruction:

“When He had called the people to Himself, with His disciples also, He said to them, “Whoever desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me.”

Almighty Creator,

I desire to come after You.  Teach me these other three things.  To deny myself.  To take up my cross.  To follow You.  Not just words formed by my lips, or an act put on to impress the people around me, teach me to truly deny myself, take up my cross and follow you.  I entrust my soul – and my ambitions – to You.  May my desire to “Come after You” grow continually stronger.

Amen

~ by Jonathan Biron on October 31, 2008.

One Response to “God: “Follow Me””

  1. amen. me too Lord.

Leave a Reply

 
