Like Job, my heart yearns to see God

Job, in the 19<sup>th</sup> chapter of his book, after describing the persecution he has suffered at the hand of God (“…kindled His wrath against me…”, “He has stripped me of my glory…”, “…hand of God has struck me!”), offers this:

“For I know that my Redeemer lives,
And He shall stand at last on the earth;
And after my skin is destroyed, this I know,
That in my flesh I shall see God,
Whom I shall see for myself,
And my eyes shall behold, and not another.
How my heart yearns within me!”

**

Awesome, Wonderful Redeemer,

My heart also yearns within me.  Though I fear perhaps not as much as Job’s did.  Nonetheless, You honor those who seek You, and today, I seek You.

In humility we ask You to reveal Yourself.  May our eyes (not someone else) behold You.

Amen.

~ by Jonathan Biron on October 28, 2008.

One Response to “Like Job, my heart yearns to see God”

  1. i love that it is Job who speaks those words “i know my redeemer lives” – was stoked to read that and have that click – i have heard teh phrase heaps but thought it must of being abraham or david or someone like that who said it. but it was Job, who suffered so and was at the end of his rope so to speak. to me they are such words of hope and faith – and show us perspective – if we fix our eyes upon God then we continue to have hope and faith eh!

    i also love 1 corinthians 2:9-10 – eye has not seen… heart not comprehended teh good things you have prepared for those who love you BUT GOD HAS REVEALED THEM to us, through the Holy Spirit who lives in us (paraphrase by me)

    that is good news eh!
    blessings, fireball

Leave a Reply

 
